Published on Wed, 06/23/2010 by Miller Thomson LLP

Miller Thomson Foundation 2010 Scholarship Recipients Announced


For Immediate Release

Miller Thomson Foundation Awards Scholarships Totalling $200,000 to Graduating High School Students Across Canada

- Since 1995 $2.55 million has been awarded to 2,550 students -

June 23, 2010 (TORONTO) - The Miller Thomson Foundation’s National Scholarship Program is awarding $1,000 academic scholarships to 200 Canadian students, bringing its total contribution to $2.55 million in scholarship awards to 2,550 graduating high-school students since 1995. The award recipients will be announced through an advertisement in the Globe and Mail's Focus section on Saturday, June 26. 

“The Miller Thomson Foundation’s National Scholarship Program was created to recognize the achievements and aspirations of remarkable young Canadians,” says Gerald Courage, Chair of the Miller Thomson Foundation. “The scholarships encourage and promote the attainment of the higher education goals of exceptional high-school graduates who have demonstrated a high level of academic achievement and have made outstanding contributions to their schools and communities. They can be applied to any area of study at any Canadian university or college.”

Approximately 2,224 high school students from across Canada applied for Miller Thomson Foundation Scholarships in 2010.

The Miller Thomson Foundation is governed by a board of 28 prominent members of Canada’s business and education communities and co-chaired by The Rt. Hon. John N. Turner, P.C., C.C., Q.C. and Gary G. Campbell, Q.C.

Miller Thomson LLP is one of Canada's largest full-service national law firms, with over 430 lawyers working from Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, London, Kitchener-Waterloo, Guelph, Markham and Montréal. The firm provides business law, advocacy and personal legal services to Canadian and international corporations, entrepreneurs, institutions, governments and not-for-profit organizations.

For a full list of our 200 Scholarship Recipients, please refer to the Miller Thomson LLP website under MT Foundation or click here.

- ### -

To determine the media availability of current award recipients, please contact:

Lesley A. Lawson, Executive Director, The Miller Thomson Foundation

For further information about the Miller Thomson Foundation, please contact:

Gerald Courage, Chair
Miller Thomson LLP